Who is in charge of your life?

This can’t hit any more home for me as I find myself too often realizing who I am putting in charge of my life – and it usually is me and my “wisdom” in things (I know what is best, I know we need this, I …) and how every time I find myself down a path I only regret.
Thank you Lord for reminding me again and again who should really be leading me.

So… Who is the Lord of your life?


Lord is translated from the Greek kurios, which can be separated into three parts: owner, controller and sovereign authority. To truly believe Jesus is my Lord I must accept he is my owner, my controller and my sovereign authority. This might look like a lot to believe, but Jesus gives a parable that covers this important aspect:


Jesus told this story to his disciples: “A rich man hired a manager to handle his affairs, but soon a rumor went around that the manager was thoroughly dishonest. So his employer calld him in and said, ‘What’s this I hear about your stealing from me? Get your report in order, because you are going to be dismissed.’

Luke 16:1-2


Note the following 4 key points:

  1. God is the rich man (owner)
  2. We are the managers
  3. Managers can be wasteful
  4. The owner holds the managers (us) accountable for our actions

So why do you make the decisions/choices you make? What leads you? What guides you?

For if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is by believing in your heart that you are made right with God, and it is by confessing with your mouth that you are saved.

Romans 10:9-10

Now simply saying “that Jesus is Lord” is certainly not what is desired – it is truly meaning it in your heart. Clearly I cannot tell what you believe in your heart. How do we know this is the case? Jesus answers it:

Not all people who sound religious are really godly. They may refer to me as ‘Lord’, but they still won’t enter the Kingdom of Heaven. The decisive issue is whether they obey my Father in heaven.

Matthew 7:21

So calling him Lord is just peachy – but sure doesn’t mean you are saved (i.e. entering the Kingdom of Heaven). As Jesus puts it, what does decide your salvation is if we obey our Father in heaven. But even just obeying God’s law (the Commandments) isn’t really it.

I recall the one time a religious teacher from the New Testament actually gets what Jesus is saying right, and identifies it back to Him:

One of the teachers of religious law was standing there listening to the discussion. He realized that Jesus had answered well, so he asked, “Of all the commandments, which is the most important?” Jesus replied, “The most important commandment is this: ‘Hear, O Israel! The Lord our God is the one and only Lord. And you must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, all your mind, and all your strength.’ The second is equally important: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ No other commandment is greater than these.” The teacher of religious law replied, “Well said, Teacher. You have spoken the truth by saying that there is only one God and no other. And I know it is important to love with all my heart and all my understanding and all my strength, and to love my neighbors as myself. This is more important than to offer all of the burnt offerings and sacrifices required in the law.” Realizing this man’s understanding, Jesus said to him, “You are not far from the Kingdom of God.

Mark 12:28-34

Remember that according to Jewish law, one must repent of her/his sins by offering sacrifices and burnt offerings… which I would imagine would easily be the solution to sin – because you offered their sacrifices/offerings – you are right with God. No! I see that as saying you believe Jesus is your Lord, but not really – you only say it and show your sacrifices/offerings when your heart is not really there.

Love God with all your heart and soul. And no it’s not just that simple…

Leave a Reply

