being a Millenial

Hmm. I always thought I was at the very tail end of the X Generation… then I thought maybe I was in the Y Generation, but apparently now I’m a Millenial according to this Water Cooler Wisdom post, which I’m replying to here.

OK – I don’t really fit the usual mold I don’t think. I certainly wasn’t very “free-wheeling” in my 20s (which I still am – but I’m 28). But I do feel folded between the “demands of work and family” – but have felt this way for a few years now and am coming to grips with it. My family won out – I quit a job back in Ohio because of the travel, and ended up taking another job which involved less (but further) travel which I also quit from because of it. Now I work for the Commonwealth (i.e. the state) of Virginia. Needless to say – there’s not a lot of travel 🙂

I have to expect to “be thrust into leadership positions that increase their levels of responsibility and accountability” – but I felt like I had that back at a job in Ohio. It was fun and quite challenging – I recommend it highly. I am not in a leadership position anymore, but sure would like to sometime in the future again (until then, I’m happy doing programming which I didn’t have as much the opportunity to do when I was in a lead role).

“Millennials face a mountain a debt from school loans and escalating housing costs, and are pressured to save for retirement now because of the impending demise of social security.” Yeah – that’s the reality of it for most people. I was fortunate though in being an independent (neither parent was financially responsible for me) when I was in college, so I was blessed with Pell Grants all the way through, but I also had a little scholarship that helped, and a fair chunk I paid by working almost full-time too. So it’s not really a “mountain” but it’s still a bunch. Housing costs are high but manageable at least where we live (Virginia). I thought that as long as you starting saving at least something in your 20s like through a 401k, you would do pretty well.  I still think I will – but I’m generally an optimist.

“Most savvy young Americans will put off getting married and having children until their late 20s or early 30s”. Hmm – no I didn’t take that path at all. Had a few children and got married in my early 20s… 🙂 I don’t recommend it for everyone – but still seem to be doing good and we do know a handful that aren’t.

Really I couldn’t imagine my life anything different than what it is. I love it. Every day is fun (maybe not always exciting though). But here’s the thing – I know a bunch of other people from college that are in about the same situation – some financially better, some not. Some with the same # of kids, some with less, some with none. Some that bought a house on the cheap, fixed it completely up, resold it for a profit, and bought another one with a fair chunk of money up-front. I think a bunch of them still owe a lot of school, but are OK/good regarding saving for their retirement.

I really don’t see my generation that different than the rest, but that’s just my view.

Leave a Reply

