childhood memories and a true friend

When I was a kid I lived in the Dallas-Ft. Worth (DFW) area of Texas. To be exact, we lived in Euless (affectionally called by myself and friends – “Useless”). My family had moved around a bunch but I know that somewhere around 3rd grade I was living there, and stayed until the late junior high (9th grade) years. Ah the memories.

woodsOur neighborhood was quite a little one and was U-shaped. At one side of the bends, if you snuck through a house’s backyard (which was empty for a time), and jump the fence, there was these woods. Mind you it was someone else’s land, but boy was it fun. The guy had a bunch of horses that were mostly friendly; there was a lot of trees – one of woods-view.jpgwhich was quite the giant, and conveniently had from at least a few years of kids visiting it, a lot of nails and wood attached to it so you could climb probably a good 50 ft up (the top had quite a lookout!).

I went back there a lot (building dams, walking around, etc.) one summer a lot and I remember one day hanging out in a friend’s garage when two boys on bikes (or was it skateboards?) screwing around out in the street. Funny how memories go (I really don’t remember at all how we met beyond this), but I became best friends with one of them – his name was Shane.

shane.jpg

Shane and I were an odd pair but great friends. You know those years you really don’t do a lot involving going places, but you’re just with friends a lot. I know we got into rollerblading. He was big into remote-controlled cars and a bunch of other stuff. I learned how to jet ski with him (wrecked a jet ski one time with his family too). He had this dog I called Shugs, but was named Sugar. We swam a lot in his backyard pool. I remember seeing all kinds of stuff I hadn’t seen before when I would go with him to help his step-dad with his car sales stuff … we for some reason cleaned the offices.

Well, we ended up moving away in the end of my 9th grade year (around March), but returned for only a month the following year over the summertime. This was extremely hard on me. My mom decided she couldn’t handle this place we moved to (that’s a whole other post), so we came back. After a month, she decided she didn’t want to stay in Texas by herself, so we moved to Ohio (where my mom’s other family live). That again was really tough. My older brother who never left ended up becoming good friends with Shane too.

Several years pass. High school graduation, then college graduation in Ohio. I met my wife Isa … we started our own family. We moved out here to Virginia for a new job. One of the duties of that job involved traveling to the company’s facility north of DFW. During two of the trips, I took a few hours out and visited Shane and his family (one time at his house, another time visiting his mother and then him when he stopped over) – they still live in the same town (his mother at the same house). It was really great to see him…. and his own family. He has a few kids (some a few years older than mine, but he also has a younger one too. It seemed like old times again. Occasionally I have thought of him and how it would be great to find some way to get our families together for something… in the back of my mind I always figured one day we would – one day.

Earlier today my brother called me and told me that Shane was in a motorcycle accident yesterday and today they pronounced him dead (they went through surgeries apparently all night long). I won’t go into the details of it (I really don’t know them really well either).

I will always remember the great memories we had together when we were younger. Even though we grew quite apart Shane will always be to me the embodiment of a true friend. Rest in peace Shane. I pray that we will see each other again:

“For the Lord himself will come down from heaven with a commanding shout, with the call of the archangel, and with the trumpet call of God. First, all the Christians who have died will rise from their graves. Then, together with them, we who are still alive and remain on the earth will be caught up in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air and remain with him forever.” 1 Thessalonians 4:16,17

I went back through emails he forwarded me and found one with this:

I would rather live my life as if there is a God, and die to find out there isn’t, than live my life as if there isn’t, and die to find out there is.

I see at least one search that got someone here – did you know Shane? If so, want to share about it?

Leave a Reply

