WWJS – to me?

Jim tagged me for a meme on What Would Jesus Say … to me? That’s quite a tough question – one that makes me look deep at myself and all the things I have done and continue to do. I can only assume we want to stick to those things that Jesus has said, but an issue I have is that I don’t just know everything Jesus said (other than grabbing my Bible and finding in the New Testament everything written in red), so I will do my best.

John 8:31-32: To the Jews who had believed him, Jesus said, “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.

I am young in my faith and feel like I need to remember to hold to his teaching. Sometimes I feel like I don’t do this, like I am falling away. That I’m not really a follower – even though I may play the part. Maybe Jesus wouldn’t say it to me, but maybe he would; if nothing else, I feel like I need to say it to myself.

Luke 18:14: “I tell you that this man, rather than the other, went home justified before God. For everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, and he who humbles himself will be exalted.

I am far from humble. Sometimes I really puff myself up, when I’ve nary done much on my own.

Matthew 25:42-43: For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink, I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me.’

Helping the homeless, the poor, the sick, those in prison. Generally those in need. Those who are alone. See the previous post about homeless in Richmond… it’s still on my mind.

Matthew 8:26: Why are you afraid? You have so little faith!

Matthew 9:2: Take heart, son! Your sins are forgiven.

Mark 9:35: If you try to keep your life for yourself, you will lose it. But if you give up your life for my sake and for the sake of the Good News, you will find true life.

I have this feeling that if Jesus really would be saying something directly to me, it might not be any of this. This is stuff that is on my mind that I am projecting he might say… but if He were, it would cut right to the very depths of my heart and soul. I firmly believe it would be exactly what I need to hear (probably not what I would want to hear at the time maybe, but what I really NEED to hear). I’m just not sure. Maybe some of these things I have identified is what the Holy Spirit is whispering to me… I can only have hope that it is so.

I just now read Lyn’s post in response to this meme and will follow along with her question to those reading this:

How about you? What do you think Jesus would say to you? If anyone else wants to share their thoughts then please feel tagged, and post your blog link on Jim’s blog.

UPDATE: I’d love to tag some people but have in the past with no luck. NEVERTHELESS, I will tag anyway! Several of these people I read their blogposts, sometimes I comment, but some of you may not ever have even heard of me – but I read you. Most of you probably won’t post anyway, but I’m hoping maybe at least one of you will 🙂

4 responses to “WWJS – to me?

  1. Chris, thank you for doing this. I, too, feel like there are many things Jesus could (and should) direct and correct me on. I just hope He’d say it in love, and not call me a whited sepulcher! 🙂

    Thanks,

    Jim

  2. I see my tag now and will post tomorrow about this very ineresting topic.

  3. I am going to be using this topic during two of my men’s groups this week. WWJS say to me?
    Mike, why do you place so many things above me? Mike, why are you so selfish? Mike, why do you treat others like royalty but treat your family like trash? Mike, spend time really listening to your wife and son. Mike, stop overeating. Mike, do you really need that beer? Mike, take better care of your health. Mike, stop beating up on yourself. Mike, I love you just the way you are.

Leave a Reply

