Thanksgiving

beautiful weather and family in townWe had a great Thanksgiving weekend. Weather was for the most part fabulous (see pic#1), but did get cold towards Sunday… A handful of my wife’s family were in town for much of it, and it was a great time for all of us with laughs and good times abound. The kids REALLY enjoyed the extra family (see pic#2). My oldest had not one but two teeth came out (they have been loose for weeks) – one Thursday night and the other Friday night. There wasmy family-happy kids and is MUCH to be thankful for: my kids and my wife, my family and my wife’s family (rare seems to be the occasion when someone loves their spouse’s family as much as their own), and the saving grace of my Lord.

As I thought through what I am thankful for and the blessings of family and love in our lives, I was provided quite the shaking. A particular person in my family who has been for many years struggling (who doesn’t live anywhere near us either) called [several times] over the weekend. They are going through some really tough times, but just don’t seem willing to hear anything about how to improve their situation. The hole is deep, but seems like this person can only go deeper without seeing any way out. You can’t help (and I’ve tried) – the only thing we can do is be there on the phone with this person. It is expected that they won’t have a place to live (will be losing their housing) within the month (unless something changes which isn’t likely), and probably will have to go into a temporary program. Much more could be said, but I really don’t know how. Only God – only prayer…

One response to “Thanksgiving

  1. Re., in-laws – Les and I have often said the best thing we gave each other as our wedding present was our in-laws. I love her parents, and she mine. It is a true gift. Good to know there are others out there that don’t complain about their mother-in-law. 🙂

    Per the person digging the hole – I think you’re completely right. We can (and do) rationalize everything, every kind of behavior. One of my favorite lines is from “The Big Chill”:

    Michael: I don’t know anyone who could get through the day without two or three juicy rationalizations. They’re more important than sex.

    Sam Weber: Ah, come on. Nothing’s more important than sex.

    Michael: Oh yeah? Ever gone a week without a rationalization?

    🙂

    So, anyway, my point being is when any of us (ourselves included – we all have big blind spots in our lives) are doing something dumb or destructive, we will have the best excuses and rationalizations for why it “hasta” be that way. I recently told a friend to look closely at his “hasta” and “hafta” lists, because some of the items on those lists may be contributing to where he was at, which wasn’t where he wanted to be at. I believed it helped more than ME pointing anything specific out as wrong or giving specific advice. Instead, it was simply “Reconsider your base assumptions – some may be wrong”. Dunno if that will help or not in this situation.

Leave a Reply

