Financial Prosperity

I go to a bible study at the workplace. Yesterday we started a new topic of “Financial Prosperity”. I’ve not much exposure into what is taught by this – only stuff I’ve heard which hasn’t always been so positive.

Nevertheless, as I told the woman in my division that mentioned the bible study when were leaving the group, I have doubts about at least what I’ve heard so far – and I could (and want to) say a lot more on it. I figure though that it would be better to see what is stated in it and withhold my doubts and thoughts until after I actually hear it.

I have written recently on the topic of money (Money and Me). I might have been a little vague on my opinion, but I don’t think there is anything inherently wrong with money – it’s what we do with it, and our heart regarding it. I believe in paying off our debt, and saving money if we need it. But also in having the freedom (e.g. not having to pay 50% of our income on loans/mortgages/debt) to give as we are led to without struggling to make ends meet…

Question: what are your thoughts on “financial prosperity” (only care about the Biblical perspective – not a wordly view)? If you comment, please mention if if you had first-hand experience over the topic (e.g. sermon series at church, book study, seminar, etc.) or if you’re like me right now, and have only “heard” about it…

6 responses to “Financial Prosperity

  1. I have taken a Crown Financial Class which teaches us what the Bible has to say about money. “You cannot worship 2 masters as you will love the one and hate the other”. For a lot of peopel, money is their master. I also learned that in order for me to do God’s will, I need to be able to do it. Therefore, the Bible shows us that we are to tithe and to store our income for HIS purposes. What we earn or have isn’t ours to begin with. Its what God has given to us. It belongs to him. We are to be good Stewards to what HE has trusted to us. There are over 144 verses pertaining to money.

    Part of the Crown Class was that we were given Bible verses to memorize that pertained to what we were learning in class and you couldn’t participate in class unless you knew the Bible Verse.

    So in short, I believe in Luke 12:32-34: “Do not be afraid, little flock, for your Father has been pleased to give you the kingdon. Sell your posessions and give to the poor. Provide purses for yourselves that will not wear out, a treasure in heaven that wil not be exhausted, where no thief comes near and no moth destroys. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

    How can God entrust us with the treasures in Heaven if we can’t be enstrusted with what little we have here on earth?

    I hope this helps. Take Care and God Bless.

    Beamer 319
    beamer319.blogspot.com

  2. Like you, I would feel uncomfortable with the subject, especially of anything that smacks of “prosperity gospel”.

  3. The NT speaks more about wealth and its dangers than almost any other subject. This withering critique is from James 5:1-5:

    ” 1Now listen, you rich people, weep and wail because of the misery that is coming upon you. 2Your wealth has rotted, and moths have eaten your clothes. 3Your gold and silver are corroded. Their corrosion will testify against you and eat your flesh like fire. You have hoarded wealth in the last days. 4Look! The wages you failed to pay the workmen who mowed your fields are crying out against you. The cries of the harvesters have reached the ears of the Lord Almighty. 5You have lived on earth in luxury and self-indulgence. You have fattened yourselves in the day of slaughter”

    Doesn’t mince words, does he? And for a theological critique of the prosperity gospel, check out NT scholar Ben Witherington’s blog entry:
    http://benwitherington.blogspot.com/2006/03/whats-wrong-with-prospering-gospel.html

    Peter Maurin, a founder of the Catholic Worker movement (http://catholicworker.org/) once said “No one would be poor if everyone tried to be the poorest.” What a great sentiment, and one that turns our culture of competition on its head!

  4. Thanks everyone for the comments. I believe I’m in agreement with every one of you.

    Maybe I will post something about the points/arguments put forth over the next 3 weeks on the study in our bible group. I was hoping someone might argue in favor of the financial prosperity…. but I guess I will be getting that on my own, won’t I?

    Thanks for the link to Ben Witherington… should be interesting.

  5. I believe, that God wants us to have financial prosperity. How are we to help the needy and the poor, our brother or sister in there time of need if we can’t help ourselves. I feel God does not want us to hoard our money. It seems that when we think of money, we think of it as a bad thing, because the only thing most of us have heard is the rich can’t get to Heaven. Well Abraham was rich, King Solomon was rich, David was rich, and many others. We have also been conditioned to believe the money is the root of all evil. Correction the Bible says for the love of money is the root of all evil. I believe we need to control our money, not the other way around. Even the poor can be greedy.

  6. Glowinglight has it right as far as my eye can see. If I remember correctly the wealth of the wicked is laid up for the righteous. Pro. 13: 22 So it’s obviously it is not the money that is bad. Learning how to handle it seems important b/c even staying out of the worlds financial system and breaking even is not a good idea either as seen in the parable of the talents. Matthew 25:14 I believe we are here on earth to make things happen, not wait for things to happen to us. We should work hard, give it our all, and first and foremost plan, study and work smarter not harder but all this together is the small part. Ephesians 2:8-10 I Corinthians 1:26-31 because it’s not by our might but by the Spirit of the Lord. Zechariah 4:6 So do your best, give joyfully (2 Corinthians 9:7) so that your faith in God will be made obvious to you and unto God. You do have faith in his ability to be your Jehovah Jireh, right? Genesis 22:13 Don’t tell me God might do Abraham a favor but not someone like you. Don’t tell me that God does not love you all the way down to the place you are at in life right at this moment and wants to see you through it all, the storms and the good times. He did not promise paradise on Earth but sent us a comforter (John 14:16-18) and guidance (John 1:14-18) and love (1 Corinthians 13:8) and He will see us thru to the other side. God has gone as far as to having already made a way and prepared a place for you in heaven. John 14:2 Philippians 3:20 And yes you alone are important enough for God to pay attention to (Matthew 6:26) He gave his son Jesus to die for you to prove His love and to make a way for you to become His friend, so go and love Him, treat others around you with His love even when they don’t desire it and show yourself the same respect! This makes for fertile grown for planting that financial seed, watering it and seeing it multiply. Back to a talent or two…. http:// Pettypress .com/Sermons/A%20Talent%20or%20Two.htm here is a web site I scanned during scripture lookups, looks good so here it is http:// sermons.trbc .org/20030622.html

Leave a Reply

