devoted

This actually was from my reading a few days ago, but I just didn’t find time to write about it until today (day off!). I was reading through 1 Kings 18 and came across the story of Obadiah:

So Ahab summoned Obadiah, who was in charge of the palace. (Now Obadiah was a devoted follower of the Lord. Once when Jezebel had tried to kill all the Lord’s prophets, Obadiah had hidden one hundred of them in two caves…). Ahab said to Obadiah, “We must check every spring and valley to see if we can find enough grass to save at least some of my horses and mules.”…

Interesting. We have here King Ahab who clearly wasn’t exactly a man after God, and his main man – in charge of the palace – as a devoted follower. Nowhere do we see Obadiah going around like Elijah and proclaiming anything, but nevertheless, we see he clearly was still a devoted follower of the Lord.

Here’s what I’ve wondered:

does every Christ follower have to be like Elijah and be a prophet (in this way I mean proclaiming God’s will to those that need to hear it)?

I see in this that maybe we all don’t… but we do need to serve the Lord – in our own ways. I’ve often felt not very capable in trying to tell anyone my views on certain topics very well, and usually quite hesitate to since I don’t feel like I’m much of a debater (I primarily mean explaining my position). So I take it that we all have our own unique roles in the body of Christ, and I just don’t think I’m called to as much go out and “preach the Gospel” – but definitely serve and love others in certain ways. Towards my recent posts and service with the homeless, I feel like it seems some people who also reach out to the homeless make it part of their work to “spread the Word” and make it nearly required for them to listen first, then get whatever it is they have. Now maybe there is some reason for this – I just know I don’t get it...

I also thought it interesting that Obadiah worked under King Ahab. Clearly in the middle of a whole lot of not-so-good stuff including probably a lot of idol worship (especially with that Jezebel!). And he stayed a devoted follower of God.

One response to “devoted

  1. Chris,

    I for one don’t think charity/volunteering should be mixed with preaching. The people in need have it hard enough as it is :o). But seriously, to me showing God’s love is as important or more so than proclaiming it. And if there’s a cross on the wall in the place they’re getting help, they know/see God’s involved, and that will go in their head and the Spirit can do His own work with that seed. At least, that’s how I think of it.

    And I agree – I don’t think all of us are called to preach the Word. In fact, I think it would be better if many who did, didn’t, and just worked on SHOWING God’s love instead.

    Good post!

Leave a Reply

