the age of less

[via Daniel’s Pilgrimage]. I like this… really like this –> the Age of Less (part 1, part 2, and part 3) from Organic Jesus. Concept is something like this – the age of prosperity will decline and soon and our cultural habits will have to change. The consumer culture I really feel we can live without – let’s truly enjoy the things we have and share what we don’t really have such a big need to hold onto (and I think that we have a lot of that). So what will that mean? Less of everything – I think that the concept is that costs will rise for everything – and due to that, we all just won’t be able to buy as much. Furniture. Cars. Food. Clothing. you name it – they really tie a lot of it to the cost of oil continuing to rise and that so many industries are so dependent on it and will have to bear the costs which means we will bear the costs as well. (Side note – I think back to when I started programming – and I recall printing my code and scrutinizing it that way and wonder if we would ever have to regulate computer usage and do stuff like that ever again… ).

What Organic Jesus specifically digs into is how will Christianity adapt to this ‘age of less’.

Imagine us not being able to afford as much as we do – and let’s say can’t drive nearly as much as we can, much less afford food as much. What will that mean? It’s kind-of like thinking the whole world goes third-world (in today’s standards). Seems a little bit apocalyptic a bit and I’m not sure if it really is worth all the time and effort to dwell on it that much, but it makes at least for me some pretty interesting thinking.

Currently we have all kinds of options given we can really drive anywhere fairly closely – including finding a church where everyone is completely like us. But what if couldn’t? I’d tend to believe that house churches would flourish big time and possibly the church as we usually consider it might act in some sort of facilitative way. I was just turned on to this concept at my church – that they want to grow big (those attending on Sunday – no surprise) as well as small (adding small groups and having everyone be part of them as well). The celebration being the Sunday thing and the caring being the small group thing. That would be interesting. What if there were no denominations (or maybe there still would be, but we’d have less choice to choose them unless they were very close).

Take a read – really interesting thoughts there.

2 responses to “the age of less

  1. Glad to see you’re contemplating a “simplified” life.

    Welcome to the club.

    Hal
    http://www.halmoran.com

  2. “The consumer culture I really feel we can live without – let’s truly enjoy the things we have and share what we don’t really have such a big need to hold onto (and I think that we have a lot of that).”

    This is definitely something that has been on my mind for a while. I’m having a hard time dealing with what seems like the endless accumulation of things and am much more aware of the types of things I spend money on. Do I really *need* this ? Most times the answer is no. But that’s a difficult stance to take when we are bombarded with ads to buy more everyday.

    This is an area that I really connect with on your blog. Thanks for your voice on this Chris.

Leave a Reply

