do the work

I’m reading through 1st Chronicles, which feels very repetitive. But I just read this (1 Chronicles 28:9-10) and I’m sure there’s something in it I really need to dwell on…

And Solomon, my son, get to know the God of your ancestors. Worship and serve him with your whole heart and with a willing mind. For the Lord sees every heart and understands and knows every plan and thought. If you seek him, you will find him. But if you forsake him, he will reject you forever. So take this seriously. The Lord has chosen you to build a Temple as his sanctuary. Be strong, and do the work.

There are a few ways I’m taking this:

  1. What am I saying (both in words and actions) to my son and my daughters as well)? I’m not sure how well I am in that regard, but am hopeful that even though I’m not a perfect slice of bread, God’s still using me to be some sort of “pointer” to God.
  2. I’m not sure how to word it, but I’m wanting to tie this to our work – this includes our day “jobs”. In particular the statement to “do the work” – no matter what it is and if we think it’s below us or not. Also to take the job “seriously”. Yeah and this probably is so applicable for much more than just our day “job” too….
  3. All this action I’m seeing is pretty much pointless if our heart really isn’t behind it. “Worship and serve with my whole heart”?
Leave a Reply

