yearning

I am yearning to do something creative….

  • Playing the piano again
  • Drawing again
  • Exploring the woods again
  • Building anything
  • Learning something new
  • Maybe going out on a canoe
  • Maybe fishing

A lot of the stuff I did when I was a kid really. Before all the ‘constraints of life’ were put on. Now I’m sure I can’t really throw off these “constraints” and really they’re not all that burdening. Some are actually great! Well maybe not directly but indirectly, especially when it involves children…

But I don’t want to do these things just to do them. But to really enjoy them. Because it’s something different. Some of them because it’s something creative – something I can do in a different way – and out-of-the-box.

Do you yearn? Almost everyone who will read this probably works some day job somewhere and is so used to their “schedule”. Work. Eat. Want to nap. Try to Work. Leave and go home. Eat. Maybe do something. Maybe something else. Sleep. Wake up. Repeat. Yeah we get that Saturday and Sunday off but…

There’s something Jim pointed me to called how to be creative, that is really thought-provoking but maybe just a bit too long to read all the way through. But probably really worth it. I really don’t care that much about applying it to business/work though. Just to life and everything we do. So silly in my mind to always want to do things like everyone else. Now I do see and agree in that there ought to be rules (which I would agree about but maybe not in how some choose to apply and have others apply them)….

So there’s all these yearnings I have. But what I wonder about frequently is where is my passion. I know I really enjoy programming, but is it my passion? Probably not fully but then again, I’ve not really thrown myself fully into let’s say making games or anything (nor do I expect I will do this). I’ve got some ideas, some clues though on my passion. They’re floating around and one day will become apparent. Who knows… maybe one will come and go and another one is next… The interest and yearning for some of these things comes and goes. But deep in the back (or would it be the bottom?) of me, it really doesn’t.

I really liked this part:

If you have something to say, then say it. If not, enjoy the silence while it lasts. The noise will return soon enough. In the meantime, you’re better off going out into the big, wide world, having some adventures and refilling your well. Trying to create when you don’t feel like it is like making conversation for the sake of making conversation. It’s not really connecting, it’s just droning on like an old, drunken barfly.

One response to “yearning

  1. I have been struggling with the passion question for years. I like lots of things. I am pretty good at a lot of things. But I don’t have a passion for any of them.

    There has been a glimmer of hope for me however… My Faith.

    I am not sure where God will lead me, but with every day that passes, my faith grows stronger and my convictions grow deeper.

    It’s interesting, because like anything else one might hunt for, the outcome is always the same. It will blindside you when you least expect it.

Leave a Reply

