finding your S.H.A.P.E.

Have you been through this before? A week ago I went to this 401 class which is all about identifying your S.H.A.P.E.:

  • spiritual gifts
  • heart
  • abilities
  • personality
  • experiences

I won’t go into all of the results, just a few that I thought were interesting.

The personality test was based on “Wired that Way” (I don’t really see a lot written about this online other than this which includes a chart!); think something like the Myers-Briggs test but simplified. I strongly matched Melancholy, with a subset of that personality’s strengths include:

deep and thoughtful, analytical, serious and purposeful, idealistic, schedule-oriented, perfectionist, high standards, orderly and organized, needs to finish what he starts, faithful and devoted, deep concern for other people, avoids causing attention.

Some melancholy weaknesses include:

moody and depressed, off in another world, has selective hearing, too introspective, guilt feelings, low self-image, depressed over imperfections, chooses difficult work, spends too much time planning, standards often too high,deep need for approval, critical of others, insecure socialy, unforgiving, skeptical of compliments.

The other facet that was interesting was the spiritual gifts. It was a bit challenging to go over, especially since it seemed like the assessment was geared towards having several experiences already. Some I’m just now getting into, and accordingly didn’t rate as high. In particular a friend thinks I may be suited for – shepherding only got ranked as #4. So what were the top gifts then? In order:

  1. Service (13 pts) – ‘recognize and meet needs through prompt, cheerful, practical assistance’
  2. Wisdom (9 pts) – ‘discover and apply God’s truth in specific circumstances or problems’
  3. Administration (8 pts) – ‘organize and guide human activities in such a way that Christ’s program is carried out’
  4. Giving (8 pts) – ‘support the Lord’s work materially with generous, timely and cheerful contributions’
  5. Shepherding (7 pts) – ‘oversee the lives of others in order to nurture and care for their spiritual development’

Then yesterday I read a Letters from Kamp Krusty post – ‘Ministry without the People’. And a few things in there just really told me that hey, maybe that’s you. “Ministry is loving people you didn’t handpick.” I think of the homeless in particular, and some others also that it seems other don’t want to care about anymore either.

Though when I check out wikipedia:

A shepherd is a person who tends to, feeds, or guards sheep, especially in flocks. The word may also refer to one who provides religious guidance, as a pastor.

I’m not sure if I’m all into being “one who provides religious guidance”…

So here’s my question to you, dear Reader, what’s your SHAPE? I don’t care that much if you happened to take this same personality test, or the Myers-Briggs test, or whatever.

3 responses to “finding your S.H.A.P.E.

  1. Chris,

    Haven’t taken any of the tests, probably won’t.

    Any more, I fear I don’t fit any of those categories.

  2. Understand Jim. I believe this is where we may differ – obviously in regards to church. I’ve got say that the reason I wrote this is because I found it interesting to see what all these assessments/tests/what-not are trying to do is see in what way(s) I may be built to serve God.

    I will say though that I bet you might be quite the melancholy personality, but man there really should be some sort of online thing for taking it, other than buying the assessment for $1.99!

  3. I think of shepherd in this context: innate, intrinsic, inherent, built-in care for / about others (even unknown others) that compel you to extend yourself, in some fashion to help them arrive at a safe place of growth. Long-term is relative. I think the “shepherd” heart here is more concentrated on pulling the drowning into the boat … or gathering the ones that have wandered from the herd. Beyond evangelism (to reach & save the lost) … there is a tenderness of genuine care that wants to get them to safety … where they can fully bloom. I think I mixed about 60 metaphors in this … but you get the idea. — tim 🙂

Leave a Reply

