Go, or stay…

Just watched a really awesome video from this Church for Men Florida post that was Keith Green that focused on one little command to “Go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit”.

A lot of times I find myself wanting and going, but am questioning that. Keith asked at one point towards the end if you feel God has called you to stay and this really hit me. <strong>I need to stay.</strong>

I’m not sure how many of you might understand this, but I tend to get involved over my head sometimes. Yeah sure I can help for this (tech stuff in church and other places), and that (serving the homeless), and yeah I’d love to learn more and do that (being frugal and into this whole coupon clipping fun/madness – call it what you will). I don’t think per-se any of that is a bad thing, but it can be. And I think it may have become that. I <strong>want</strong> (and that’s the important word here) to help/do/serve/etc. but I think I’m realizing that I don’t <strong>need</strong> to especially so much. Some of you may recognize this disorder and be smiling in understanding, and if that is you, take heed – you may be in over your head and not putting priority where it needs to be. What I need to do is focus on other things… more important things. My wife. My kids. I want me to be fun and enjoyable to them again. And I fear it isn’t and that is not OK.

So I’m taking this little bit of time right here to at least be proper and clear to the few of you I’ve become somewhat acquainted with (and believe me I’ve enjoyed it quite a bit) … and some of you even met in-person and known a little bit more. <strong>So for the time being, this is the end of this blog</strong>. I’ve also marked my other blog as completely dead, and am in the process of stepping out of one church tech thing and getting someone else to help with a 2nd church tech thing. I’ve scaled back a lot of blogs I’m following and will occasionally comment out there, but it’s going to be a lot less. I have two other things that I would like to step out of, but one I’ve committed to for a year (and I’m around half way point) and the other I need to discuss with further with my wife before choosing what to do with that one.

Pray for me to take the time to not just be there, but really be there. Because a lot of times I haven’t been and I know they know that.

5 responses to “Go, or stay…

  1. Thanks for the information…I bookmarked your site, and I appreciate your time and effort to make your blog a success!

  2. Your priorities are correct, my friend. Take the time to do what is right for your family!

  3. Chris,

    I will miss your blog. It has played an integral part of bringing me to meet some of the most awesome dudes I know. Good luck, bro.

    -cwray

  4. I enjoyed reading your thoughts here Chris. God bless !

  5. Someone wiser than me pointed out that when God called Abraham to the mountain he commanded him TWICE to “be there” because it is easy to be there but not. Will pray for you

Leave a Reply

