half-hearted

I somewhat usually make it to a bible study at work on Thursdays and today we touched on Acts 5 with the story of Ananias and Sapphira. I couldn’t recall that story, but pretty much they lied when it came to sharing money for selling some land (they kept some of it instead of saying they were giving it all). Now it sure seems that the gist here for people to understand is NOT TO LIE, especially (because well it says that) not so much lying to men but LYING TO GOD. This couple end up dying right on the spot for it. Yeah serious stuff (so don’t lie).

But the lying part didn’t strike me as the important part – what did was this from the New Living Translation:

The property was yours to sell or not sell, as you wished. And after selling it, the money was also yours to give away. How could you do a thing like this?

Man – they could have not chosen to sell the land and they would have probably been OK. But they chose to but only partially did it. What struck me was their halfheartedness in the effort! I feel like Peter could have said “Do it or don’t do it, but dude if you’re going to do it, do it ALL THE WAY!”.

It reminded me of some verses from Revelation:

“I know all the things you do, that you are neither hot nor cold. I wish that you were one or the other! But since you are like lukewarm water, neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth!

They were lukewarm. Not hot; not cold. It sure seems like they were “spit out”, didn’t they? This gets to the heart of what I desire for my life – to not be half-hearted; to not be lukewarm. “Give me a Hunger” Lord – guide me and direct me WITH A PASSION, a ZEAL, a DESIRE for You.

What I am finding (and continue to be shown) is that this heavily involves me being deeply involved with others. Not so much in doing things, but connecting with others. Such as the homeless or my g-men (growth group/”wild guys on fire”). This I believe is my passion (now I need to pursue it… and get guidance & wisdom from others on it).

What is yours? And are you working to pursue it with passion? Not half-heartedly; not lukewarm but HOT! Because if not, seriously you may want to just stay cold…

2 responses to “half-hearted

  1. Hot or cold … pick it … be it!

    “wild guys on fire” 🙂

    … thanks – I now have a new image of us. – td

  2. Hey man – thanks for sharing – it’s pretty crazy I just read that passage in Acts over the last few days too. I often think – what the HECK were Annanias & Saphira thinking – all they had to do was sell it – bring however much they wanted and then be honest about – but instead they decided to come across more spiritual than they really were – so dumb …..ooooooo wait I do that all the time don’t I – or don’t we – so often many of us play the “gotta look more spiritual that I really am” – when God just simply wants us to be authentic. Man that is a great reminder.

    Thanks for throwing this out there man! Hope all is well!

Leave a Reply

