doing something to help “those people”…

I’m not really sure which blog I frequent had a link to this Alan Cox dude, but he seems interesting (in particular because: the cool hat in his picture, he’s also a web developer, a PhD student, and his interest in the purpose of the gathering of the church!) after reading his recent post Gathering and Going Out Together. Yeah you might think of me as all about house churches after reading it, but so be it… I really dig some of the ideas that seem to bubble up and happen in such things, like “someone led us in singing some songs”, and (it’s not in that post but a prior one) that they are *frequently* involved in connecting with some people that live in government housing – and in this post, they went down to that area and raked leaves.

The last paragraph is worthwhile copying in full:

It is so exciting to be part of a church that actually serves people! And, we don’t just serve people that we know, or people who are part of the church, or people who can serve us back. We serve people who we may never see again, who we have never seen before. But, we serve people because we love them. And, we love people because God first loved us.

So… check out his blog – it’s called The Assembling of the Church. I particularly like the blog description which is just Hebrews 10:24-25:

And let us consider how to stimulate one another to love and good deeds, not forsaking our own assembling together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another; and all the more, as you see the day drawing near.

That’s awesome. I want to be part of something like that…. or if I can help in encouraging and stimulating, then all the better. I find it interesting that little phrase in between my bolded phrases: “not forsaking our own assembling together as is the habit of some”, what about you? Let me explain that in my mind, I am thinking about really coming together and getting to know each other… not just the 5 minute ‘hey how ya doin this week?’ exchange but a real opportunity to lay down some roots in our conversations and dig in and get to know each other. What really sucked about the week, but also what was awesome… yeah sometimes it seems like we don’t do that.

3 responses to “doing something to help “those people”…

  1. “yeah sometimes it seems like we don’t do that.”

    Sometimes? I don’t know if we EVER do that. Not in a real way beyond what bubbles up in the prayer requests.

    Good post. I like the part about helping people you may never meet again, but I wonder if there is an aspect of “helicopter ministry” around that? I am actually much more impressed by Erika and Ruth, who are purposefully immersed in the communities they are trying to help, and can call people by name, and know their stories, whereas most of us just shun “those people”, or help on the periphery but don’t really become a part of their community, nor they ours.

  2. Ah yes, it’s the optimist in me Jim… sometimes —-> never doesn’t happen.

    I think I was reading somewhere in comments on one of that Alan Cox’s blogposts wondering about some sort of aspect (like this thought) and what that would be like… with that said though, I have seen it happen (to a degree that almost is too much) at least with some of the people. It IS awesome.

    Never heard the term “helicopter ministry” but I sure do believe I get the meaning behind it. I think for those that get involved in the periphery may be operating under that, but I think those that really have the heart and desire it won’t be that way… I think that might be the case for some that go down to serve the homeless. They go over there, come down a bit, drop off, and are ready to get back out. I’d rather go over, sit down, turn off, and talk. Don’t always happen that way… but when it is, it isn’t ‘those people’ anymore… or atleast that’s my view. There’s a story, there’s a shared thing, a knowing about them, they are no longer distant, they’re like you.

    I’ll definitely check into Erika and Ruth – thanks!

    Hey was it you who linked to this Alan Cox guy?

  3. Chris,

    Thanks for the link and the kind words about this post.

    Jim,

    We are “immersed” in this neighborhood. We spend time with the neighbors there every week, sometimes several times per week. Today, one of our young brothers is picking up one of the neighbors from the hospital and taking her home. We know them by name, and they know us by name.

    However, sometimes, we run across people who are visiting, of who just moved into the neighborhood, or who need help just for the day… we help them too.

    I hope that helps explain what we’re doing.

    -Alan

Leave a Reply

