thanksgiving

Thanksgiving

I never had heard the origin of Thanksgiving until my good friend Tim posted it – A Proclamation – which is quite a lengthy proclamation (at least for me … even though it is worth reading); so I’ll just snippet this:

They are the gracious gifts of the Most High God, who, while dealing with us in anger for our sins, hath nevertheless remembered mercy. It has seemed to me fit and proper that they should be solemnly, reverently and gratefully acknowledged as with one heart and one voice by the whole American People. I do therefore invite my fellow citizens in every part of the United States, and also those who are at sea and those who are sojourning in foreign lands, to set apart and observe the last Thursday of November next, as a day of Thanksgiving and Praise to our beneficent Father who dwelleth in the Heavens.

You know I really don’t hear anyone really talk about the origin of this holiday much – actually I don’t recall ever hearing its origin really. Have you?

Yesterday I went into work for a few hours (half day) even though I was (and still am) a bit sick, and read a verse from Psalms that I think was this one:

Psalm 95

Come, let us sing to the Lord! Let us shout joyfully to the Rock of our salvation. Let us come to him with thanksgiving. Let us sing psalms of praise to him. For the Lord is a great God, a great King above all gods. He holds in his hands the depths of the earth and the mightiest mountains. The sea belongs to him, for he made it. His hands formed the dry land, too.

Come, let us worship and bow down. Let us kneel before the Lord our maker, for he is our God. We are the people he watches over, the flock under his care.

If only you would listen to his voice today! The Lord says, “Don’t harden your hearts as Israel did at Meribah, as they did at Massah in the wilderness. For there your ancestors tested and tried my patience, even though they saw everything I did. For forty years I was angry with them, and I said, ‘They are a people whose hearts turn away from me. They refuse to do what I tell them.’ So in my anger I took an oath: ‘They will never enter my place of rest.’”

Which seems to link together fairly well. I’m thankful for so much right now … for all of my family with these that really come to mind:

  • my youngest daughter and her beautiful laugh
  • my oldest daughter for her heart (and concern for everyone)
  • my son for his willingness to help everyone out all the time
  • my wife for her endless love and forgiveness for my kids and I and others
  • the rest of my family no matter how distant they seem sometimes – we can connect back together like old times
  • my wife’s family (in particular my in-laws especially with them coming in town all the way from Michigan for a long wknd…) for being really interested in me and allowing me to be part of their family
  • my guys in my growth group – which even though we are all different and I feel connected with individually in different ways cherish their lives (and their families’ lives), our time together and (I’m sure I’ve said before) their willingness to go there and try out this thing with me
  • my church family – New Venture has been both exhilarating and draining at times but I’m sure I wouldn’t trade it for another (well except for a prior church family in Ohio… but I don’t think I’m going to a. move back there, or b. get them to move here!)
  • the crazy and odd path my life has taken me
  • other friends including a few online and a few that I’ve met out in Monroe Park (that have really shown me what thankfulness is like when you live on very little)

In wanting to show this to my kids, we had made a batch of muddy buddies (rice chex+peanut butter+chocolate chips+vanilla+butter+sugar) and gave small bags to our neighbors to illustrate “giving” for others…

Leave a Reply

