exhilarated!

Yesterday (see note at bottom) was talking with my neighbor about a few things. For awhile I’ve been slowly working on the backyard and have mentioned before that I have plans to build a tree house (plans have changed… currently the plan is the renovate the existing but old clubhouse and expand it a bit… and at a later time, build a little tower-like lookout tree house on the tree beside the clubhouse). But I have moved a lot of leaves back, and cleaned up a bit. This, coupled with a new neighbor substantially working on his backyard, had him exhilarated. Re-energized. Motivated. He’s already cut down a few trees he has wanted to do for a few years (and I got him to come over and cut down a few of mine too… hey I don’t have a chainsaw but he does and he offered).

Beyond just the yard work, he was saying how much he looks forward to this spring when it’s warmer. Maybe some hiking, some fishing, some more outdoors. I told him how much I look forward to driving again – but that will be in June. I’d like to just drive to the mountains or something… but until then it doesn’t make sense to dwell on it that much (not that I still don’t sometimes). Enjoy what I have here and now. My wife. My kids. Friends. Neighbors. Yeah sure I still plan some things, but it doesn’t always go the way I want (because I can’t just do things like I want to). I’m getting a bit more used to this fact. Ah yes patience. God sure had some great timing on this one because I was getting pretty bad (in my mind, I’m not as bad but getting a bit better).

Anyway… where I am going is are you exhilarated? what are you doing with your life? What have you thought about doing for awhile but haven’t gotten around to? With your wife. With your kids. For others. For your God. Maybe even for yourself…  I’m talking about not just going with the flow, but taking your own path. Stretch yourself. Try something new. What pulls at your heart? And if you don’t know, spend some time on this. I don’t want to look back 30 years (or ever) from now and wish I had done this or done that, but even if you are older, there’s still plenty to be done (I actually think there is a lot more possible when you’re older … well, maybe not more but a different set of things).

Whatever you believe in, live it. Many speak about the learning and gathering of knowledge, but what have you on applying it? Living it? As I slowly read and pray through the Bible, just yesterday I read Proverbs 4 and these are just a few of them that stood out as I read through it again:

Do not forsake wisdom, and she will protect you; love her, and she will watch over you.

I guide you in the way of wisdom and lead you along straight paths.

Do not set foot on the path of the wicked or walk in the way of evil men.

For they cannot sleep till they do evil; they are robbed of slumber till they make someone fall.

The path of the righteous is like the first gleam of dawn, shining ever brighter till the full light of day.

But the way of the wicked is like deep darkness; they do not know what makes them stumble.

Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.

Put away perversity from your mouth; keep corrupt talk far from your lips.

Let your eyes look straight ahead, fix your gaze directly before you.

Whatever you believe, act on it. Look straight ahead and move forward. So what exhilarates you?

Me – people energize me, which is quite hilarious considering how introverted I used to really be. My growth group has been an amazing thing that apparently came out of this, but is quite a God thing acting through these guys. Distributing food, clothes, blankets, etc. to a lot of people that live on the streets and woods and getting to know a few of them fairly well. A guy who lives in the woods close to our old church gathering place and having him over. My kids getting to know him and still ask about him.

NOTE: I wrote this a few days ago, and was definitely de-energized. definitely un-exhilirated. I won’t get into it… but by no means am I very often exhilirated like I describe; but when I am, it is definitely awesome…

One response to “exhilarated!

  1. the ebb & flow of passions & progress. Good message, man. I agree. Sometimes if we press into a diminished passion it can reignite. I think you nail it, though — do! Go & do “it” that fills you up … & do it often. Be blessed, man. – me

Leave a Reply

