shelter for the lost and weary

mustard seeds

Mustard seeds

Just reading through Mark 4, and some of Jesus’ parables and read the parable of the mustard seed:

Jesus asked, “How can I describe the Kingdom of God? What story should I use to illustrate it? It is like a tiny mustard seed. Though this is one of the smallest of seeds, it grows to become one of the largest plants, with long branches where birds can come and find shelter.”

A tiny mustard seed. Not some huge seed that you simply cannot miss, but something tiny; something you would usually just skip over and ignore. Makes me think of the verse from Psalm 118:

The stone that the builders rejected has now become the cornerstone”.

I’m thinking when I read this that people have to be looking for it to see this… (not to discredit the belief that God leads us to Him in certain ways; I believe he does) but it’s not going to be something like what you see on TV proclaiming we can “eliminate your debt now!” You may not think much can happen from something little; something that just doesn’t make a whole lot of sense. Like Jesus said about his parables in a reference to Isaiah, people will see and hear, but not understand it. They may see what this little seed becomes, and still not believe. So it is with the Kingdom of God.

But for those who choose, there is shelter. Remember this?

Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.”

shade of a tree

shade of a tree

It seems many are weary, and definitely carry many burdens from their past. Jesus can provide a different way, a place to drop these things off and let them go. Learn a different way – one of rest. Maybe not immediate … but like all teaching, one that takes time and discipline. We all need this.

One response to “shelter for the lost and weary

  1. resting in Christ, as we “drop stuff off” w/ Him. What a glorious image of hope & peace. – td

Leave a Reply

