asleep in the light

Funny how timing is sometimes. I follow a whole pile of blogs and a lot of the time, really enjoy their writing… unfortunately it usually takes a while to catch up on everyone’s stuff. Anyway, just this morning I read Has the Light Gone Out?.

The Charles she mentions I just so happened to have met a day ago, and was really struck by a short speech by him, in particular something he mentioned about at a time when he was younger when he was roaming the streets without a purpose. This seems to me to ring so true for many … which to me begs the question – what is YOUR purpose? What is your calling? I don’t mean your job. I mean those things that call out deep from within your heart for you to do.

The person who wrote this post I linked above several years ago totally seems to have found her purpose and calling (read on Wendy’s About page) and out of some seeds planted through her efforts, others have grown and further seeds have bloomed as well (sounds more like the body of Christ than any I’ve seen in any traditional “church”…).

It’s more than clear two callings for my life are to be a husband and father, but I’m far from knowing what God has in mind for the rest of my life; although it sure seems I’ve been used in some ways that I certainly didn’t bring about on my own to bring some people together.

Either which way, after reading the above post, I can’t think of a more eloquently written and heart-wrenchingly sung song than this one by Keith Green:

Do you see, do you see
All the people sinking down
Don’t you care, don’t you care
Are you gonna let them drown?

How can you be so numb
Not to care if they come?
You close your eyes
And pretend the job’s done?

“Oh bless me Lord, bless me Lord”
You know it’s all I ever hear!
No one aches, no one hurts!
No one even sheds one tear!

But He cries, He weeps, He bleeds
And He cares for your needs;
And you just lay back
And keep soaking it in,
Oh, can’t you see it’s such a sin?

Cause He brings people to you door,
And you turn them away;
As you smile and say,
“God bless you, be at peace”
And all heaven just weeps
Cause Jesus came to your door
You’ve left him out on the streets!

Open up open up
And give yourself away!
You see the need, you hear the cries
So how can you delay?

God’s calling and you’re the one
But like Jonah you run!
He’s told you to speak
But you keep holding it in,
Oh can’t you see it’s such a sin?

The world is sleeping in the dark
That the church just can’t fight
Cause it’s asleep in the light…
How can you be so dead
When you’ve been so well fed?
Jesus rose from the grave
And you, you can’t even get out of bed!

Oh, Jesus rose from the dead
Come on, get out of your bed!

How can you be so numb
Not to care if they come?
You close your eyes
And pretend the job’s done?
You close your eyes
And pretend the job’s done.

Don’t close your eyes
Don’t pretend the jobs done
Come away, come away, come away with Me my love,
Come away, from this mess, come away with Me, my love.

2 responses to “asleep in the light

  1. Like you, I have seen my purpose to be in part father & husband. But these are portion-purposes. I will be tied to these roles forever in unique ways but they are not my whole purpose. I have sought to understand this my entire life. I have settled on the perspective that my purpose is simply to grow in God, be obedient to same, as I love Him, learn of Him, & enjoy Him. In this, I will become all He made me to be.

  2. Thanks for linking to my post and for your wonderful words of encouragement. I often wonder if anyone out there reads anything I write and thanks to you many have. I am working on a proposal for a second book which is tentatively titled “Just Work” and I will be blogging on issues of justice and our call to go beyond charity. I hope you will contribute to the conversation once I get it going.

Leave a Reply

