the great Carpenter, trees and wood

Occasionally I have a strong desire to really read; last weekend, the family was down at the local library and I wanted something new. Unfortunately, I  can’t seem to always find anything nor do I have any sort of planned list of books to get that I know they have in stock (or can get)… so I was pretty much left to random-pick. I’m a fan of sci-fi, mystery and that sort but much more so lately theology, mainly C.S. Lewis-styled. Anyway, I was in the theology area and just kind-of grabbed a bunch that might be interesting… one of them definitely was: The Best Christian Writing 2004.

Now it’s an odd book because it’s a collection of writing that in all honesty you probably completely can find online. Now it’s fairly likely that if you’re reading this, you’re following it through a feed, and I’m just guessing that you’re just as likely to use some sort of feed reader. You probably get where I’m going with this… how funny to physically read a “book” of good stuff that’s all online. Eh – it seems old is new again as there’s a handful of bloggers that are getting books published of their online writing. Funny, at least to me. I’ll easily admit it’s nice to readily read stuff online, but I definitely still really like being offline, especially reading. (yeah, the book has a really good article about a computer scientist who doesn’t like the computer… which I can agree with – but that’s another post now isn’t it?)

Anyway, that’s just the preface to what I intend this post to be about – wood. There’s a really great article titled JUST WOOD (online in PDF format) by Douglas Jones which comes from Credenda/Agenda magazine. It talks about the symbolism of trees (and of course its wood) in a theological perspective, especially usage throughout the Bible. The first man, Adam, living in a garden of Eden, of trees. God talking to Moses through a burning bush. Jesus who worked for several years as a carpenter. Jesus dying on a tree. Jesus telling his followers multiple parables involving trees and fruit, like Him being the vine, the Father being the gardener.

I recall as a kid loving trees, climbing them a whole lot (my son has enjoyed it as well, although there’s not a lot of trees around here in VA to climb it seems). This has given me a whole new perspective. I’ve always enjoyed wood, even as a kid for short while taking my hand at whittling (still have the whittling knife my dad got me), and have thought maybe again one day. I’d like to enjoy God’s creation in this way, working slowly, patiently.

Anyway, if you read through this far to my rambling, take a read on the article – it’s much better than this post that’s for sure.

http://www.credenda.org/images/stories/pdf/14-4.pdf (starts on page 4)

2 responses to “the great Carpenter, trees and wood

  1. I like your focus on wood–it’s different. I heard a comment a couple of days ago (on a CD) about trees. This guy (Frank Viola) asked his listeners if they could see any trees outside the building and they said yes–many trees. He said, no, there were no trees outside. You could hear the puzzled murmuring . . . what on earth did He mean? The yard was full of trees.

    He said that all those trees were just pictures, representations of the true Tree–the Tree of Life, who is Jesus. I love how everything in the scriptures always seems to point to Jesus, and how so many things (if not all of them) in the physical world also point to Jesus. And besides, trees are way cool! Especially when you see them as symbolic of the One who gives life.

    Love in Him, Cindy

  2. I can never think of trees without thinking of my favorite Dr. Seuss tale – The Lorax. I too, love the myriad lessons that trees tell us everyday. Not always silently, either. Not waxing poetic … they stand in recognition & praise to God. They move by His hand … speak in His wind … always by design, aim towards growing “up” & closer to Him. God uses them to give us the very air we breathe … & we ignore them & Him. They are sacrificed for fuel, furnishings, & food. They bloom & sleep, in seasons. They host all written word & His written Word. I love that last one the most, perhaps. That even more than the apostle Paul … ‘paper’ & thus, trees … have been the greatest evangelist carrying & sharing the Word of God & the truth of His Son & salvation, to billions & billions of souls across time. Trees held Jesus, in His manger when He was born … & held Him, on the cross, as He died. – td

Leave a Reply

