when being too busy is a sin

This kind-of is a part 2 of the last post (Growing up into Him) but from a different perspective.  This time, I’m going to refer to 1 Corinthians (specifically the end of 12):

Now the body is not made up of one part but of many. If the foot should say, “Because I am not a hand, I do not belong to the body,” it would not for that reason cease to be part of the body. And if the ear should say, “Because I am not an eye, I do not belong to the body,” it would not for that reason cease to be part of the body. If the whole body were an eye, where would the sense of hearing be? If the whole body were an ear, where would the sense of smell be? But in fact God has arranged the parts in the body, every one of them, just as he wanted them to be. If they were all one part, where would the body be? As it is, there are many parts, but one body.

The eye cannot say to the hand, “I don’t need you!” And the head cannot say to the feet, “I don’t need you!” On the contrary, those parts of the body that seem to be weaker are indispensable, and the parts that we think are less honorable we treat with special honor. And the parts that are unpresentable are treated with special modesty, while our presentable parts need no special treatment. But God has combined the members of the body and has given greater honor to the parts that lacked it, so that there should be no division in the body, but that its parts should have equal concern for each other. If one part suffers, every part suffers with it; if one part is honored, every part rejoices with it. Now you are the body of Christ, and each one of you is a part of it.

Sounds like God’s intent for the church is not to be homogeneous; not for each of us to all be the same.  Some of us make good listeners, some good workers (in a whole variety of ways), some to teach, some to preach, some to care for others, etc. Regardless of what each of us think, we shouldn’t look at others that are different, and in particular, it seems clear to me that those who “seem to be weaker” are even “indispensable”!

All too often it seems many are in the church are called to get involved in any way they can… which makes sense. One may certainly have heard the verse that says “faith without works is dead”; and in my view, we’re called by Jesus to serve … just as he came to not be served, but to serve. So we should serve. Great. I do wonder what each of us as a part of the body of Christ (the church) have as our purpose; are we an ‘ear’? a ‘hand’? a ‘foot’? In what specific way does God intend for me to serve?

It seems a lot of time a lot of us get really busy in serving in a bunch of ways; now that in and of itself, I’m not labeling as a sin or a problem. But let’s jump to 1 Corinthians 13:

If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames, but have not love, I gain nothing. Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.

If whatever we are doing in our service, we aren’t doing in love, it’s nothing. If we aren’t growing like Christ – who is the ultimate example of love – than what are we doing? I’m not really sure if it’s a sin, but what is it worth? It’s just being too busy.

Leave a Reply

